Barbara Byrne Award for Outstanding Book or Edited Volume

The Barbara Byrne Award for outstanding book or edited volume on multivariate analysis (e.g., multivariate methods, quantitative psychology, psychometrics, individual differences) is named after Barbara Byrne, an outstanding member of SMEP who published more books (i.e., 6) and sold more copies (i.e., more than 42,000 as of October 2020) than any other author in the Multivariate Applications Book Series, is given annually. Preference is given for a book that is authored or edited by a member of SMEP, those who have not yet received the award, and a book published within the past 5 years.

Past recipients:

  • 2023: No award
  • 2022: Scott E. Maxwell, Harold D. Delaney, & Ken Kelley for Designing Experiments and Analyzing Data, Third Edition (Taylor and Francis, 2017).
  • 2021: Kevin Grimm, Nilam Ram, & Ryne Estabrook for Growth Modeling: Structural Equation and Multilevel Modeling Approaches (Guilford, 2017).
  • 2020: Barbara Byrne for her collection of outstanding books on structural equation modeling.